Discrepancies between the jury and televote

Discrepancies between the jury and televote. Since the re-introduction of the juries alongside televoting in 2009, both the jury and the televote have agreed on the winner on only six occasions: in 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2017. Two winners have won without placing first in either area: Ukraine’s Jamala in 2016, who finished second in the jury vote behind Australia and second in the televote behind Russia, and the Netherlands’ Duncan Laurence in 2019, who placed third behind North Macedonia and Sweden in the jury vote, and second behind Norway in the televote.

Sweden won both the combined vote and jury vote in 2015 and 2023, represented by Måns Zelmerlöw and Loreen (who had also won in 2012), respectively. However, in the televote, Sweden came third behind Italy and Russia in 2015, and second behind Finland in 2023.

Azerbaijan’s Ell and Nikki in 2011, Israel’s Netta in 2018, Italy’s Måneskin in 2021, and Ukraine’s Kalush Orchestra in 2022 all won both the combined vote and televote. However, in the jury vote, Azerbaijan came second behind Italy in 2011, Israel came third behind Austria and Sweden in 2018, Italy came fourth behind Switzerland, France and Malta in 2021, and Ukraine came fourth behind the United Kingdom, Sweden and Spain in 2022.

Winning entries by jury and televote placement
Year Country Jury place Televote place .
2009  Norway 1st 1st
2010  Germany 1st 1st
2011  Azerbaijan 2nd 1st
2012  Sweden 1st 1st
2013  Denmark 1st 1st
2014  Austria 1st 1st
2015  Sweden 1st 3rd
2016  Ukraine 2nd 2nd
2017  Portugal 1st 1st
2018  Israel 3rd 1st
2019  Netherlands 3rd 2nd
2021  Italy 4th 1st
2022  Ukraine 4th 1st
2023  Sweden 1st 2nd