The American Song Contest

The American Song Contest

American Song Contest

Genre Music competition
Created by European Broadcasting Union
Based on Eurovision Song Contest
Country of origin USA
Original language(s) English
Executive producer(s) Ben Silverman
Producer(s) Christer Björkman
Production location(s) TBD, USA
Related shows Eurovision Song Contest

American Song Contest is a spinoff show of the Eurovision Song Contest announced on August 7, 2020 by the European Broadcasting Union, where all 50 states of the United States will participate. The contest is set to take place several months after the Eurovision Song Contest 2021.

Format. The contest will have all 50 states of the United States participating, each performer selected by the American Song Contest Acadamy, along with public votes. Performers can be in solos, duos, or groups up to 6 performers large.

There will be several pre qualification rounds, followed by two semi finals, and then a grand final. The voting process is currently unknown, as well as how the show will work due to timezones within the United States, and how the COVID-19 pandemic will affect the production of the show.

Broadcasting. Currently, no broadcasters have signed up to air the contest.

Public response. Many fans of the Eurovision Song Contest have expressed their dislike towards the idea of an American Song Contest, many saying that the contest should stay European, and that going worldwide would ruin the concept of the Eurovision Song Contest.


States. The table below lists the 50 states:

States of the United States of America (Flag, name and postal abbreviation)
 Alabama AL
 Alaska AK
 Arizona AZ
 Arkansas AR
 California CA
 Colorado CO
 Connecticut CT
 Delaware DE
 Florida FL
 Georgia GA
 Hawaii HI
 Idaho ID
 Illinois IL
 Indiana IN
 Iowa IA
 Kansas KS
 Kentucky KY
 Louisiana LA
 Maine ME
 Maryland MD
 Massachusetts MA
 Michigan MI
 Minnesota MN
 Mississippi MS
 Missouri MO
 Montana MT
 Nebraska NE
 Nevada NV
 New Hampshire NH
 New Jersey NJ
 New Mexico NM
 New York NY
 North Carolina NC
 North Dakota ND
 Ohio OH
 Oklahoma OK
 Oregon OR
 Pennsylvania PA
 Rhode Island RI
 South Carolina SC
 South Dakota SD
 Tennessee TN
 Texas TX
 Utah UT
 Vermont VT
 Virginia[E] VA
 Washington WA
 West Virginia WV
 Wisconsin WI
 Wyoming WY