Sede – Le Città ospitanti dello JESC. Paesi ospitanti / Host Cities – List of host cities of the JESC

Nuovo Documento di Microsoft Office Word

Host cities of Eurovision Song Contest in Europe: Green – A single contest, Pink – Multiple contests

List of host cities of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest: This page is a list of cities and venues that have hosted the Junior Eurovision Song Contest, one or more times. Future venues are shown in italics.

The first edition took place in 2003 in the Danish capital, Copenhagen. Following the hosting problems for the 2004 edition, the location of the subsequent contests were appointed by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), following a bidding process with broadcasters from the participating countries. Belgium was therefore the first country to successfully bid for the rights to host the contest in 2005. Poland became the first country to host two contests in a row (in 2019 and in 2020, respectively).

Originally, unlike its adult version, the winning country did not receive the rights to host the next contest. However for the contests from 2014 to 2017, 2019, and then in 2020, the winning country had first refusal on hosting the next competition. Italy used this clause in 2015 to decline hosting the contest that year after their victory in 2014. 2010, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2018 and 2019 are years that a country has won and has hosted the following year’s edition.

Kiev and Minsk are two cities having hosted the contest twice.


Contests Country City Venue Years
2 The Netherlands Rotterdam Ahoy 2007
Amsterdam Heineken Music Hall 2012
 Ukraine Kiev Palace of Sports 2009
Palace “Ukraine” 2013
 Malta Malta1 Marsa Shipbuilding 2014
Valletta Mediterranean Conference Centre 2016
 Belarus Minsk Minsk Arena 2010, 2018
 Poland Gliwice Gliwice Arena 2019
Warsaw TBD 2020
1  Denmark Copenhagen Forum Copenhagen 2003
 Norway Lillehammer Håkons Hall 2004
 Belgium Hasselt Ethias Arena 2005
 Romania Bucharest Sala Polivalentă 2006
 Cyprus Limassol Spyros Kyprianou Athletic Center 2008
 Armenia Yerevan Karen Demirchyan Sports and Concerts Complex 2011
 Bulgaria Sofia Arena Armeec 2015
 Georgia Tbilisi Olympic Palace 2017

Opening ceremony venue

Year Venue
2014 Verdala Palace (Il-Palazz Verdala)
2015 National Palace of Culture (Национален дворец на културата, Natsionalen dvorets na kulturata)
2016 Manoel Theatre (Teatro Pubblico, Teatro Reale)
2017 National Parliamentary Library of Georgia (საქართველოს პარლამენტის ეროვნული ბიბლიოთეკა)
2018 BelExpo Exhibition Centre
2019 Silesian Theatre (Teatr Śląski)
1.^ Although the venue itself is located in Marsa, Malta, the Junior Eurovision Executive Supervisor, Vladislav Yakovlev stated on 18 December 2013 that there would be “no host city – but a host island”