Het Grote Songfestivalfeest (the Big Songfestival Party)



Het Grote Songfestivalfeest (the Big Songfestival Party)

Final 15 December 2019
Venue Ziggo Dome, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Cornald Maas & Edsilia Rombley, Buddy Vedder, Emma Wortelboer, Tim Douwsma

Host broadcaster AVROTROS
Number of entries 31

Het Grote Songfestivalfeest


Het Grote Songfestivalfeest (in English: the Big Songfestival Party / The Road to Eurovision The Winners) was a Dutch live television concert programme starring by artists of the Eurovision Song Contest from the past sixty-four years and a pre-event prior to the 2020 Eurovision Song Contest which will be held in Rotterdam. The concert took place on 15 December 2019 at the Ziggo Dome, in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. Tickets were on sale via Ticketmaster. The concert was produced by PilotStudio in collaboration with the Dutch broadcaster, AVROTROS and will be broadcast on 2020 New Year’s Day. The event was originally planned to be hosted by Dutch Eurovision commentators Cornald Maas and Jan Smit, but the later has withdrawn from his job as the show’s presenter because of an illness and was replaced by one of his Eurovision 2020 co-hosts Edsilia Rombley, who represented the Netherlands in the 1998 and 2007 contest and eventually performed her entries during the concert.

Performances: Thirty-one Eurovision acts from seventeen countries participated in the concert.

Order Year Country Artist Song Language
2016  Russia Sergey Lazarev “You Are the Only One” English
2004  Ukraine Ruslana “Wild Dances”[a] English, Ukrainian
2008  Sweden Charlotte Perrelli “Hero” English
1998  Israel Dana International “Diva” Hebrew
2019  Russia Sergey Lazarev “Scream” English
1978  Israel Izhar Cohen “A-Ba-Ni-Bi” Hebrew
1986  Belgium Sandra Kim “J’aime la vie” French
1977  France Marie Myriam “L’oiseau et l’enfant” French
1973  Luxembourg Anne-Marie David “Tu te reconnaîtras” French
1983  Luxembourg Corinne Hermès “Si la vie est cadeau” French
1998  Netherlands Edsilia Rombley “Hemel en aarde” Dutch
2007 “On Top of the World” English
1975  Netherlands Getty Kaspars “Ding-a-dong”[b] English
2013  Denmark Emmelie de Forest “Only Teardrops” English
1993  Ireland Niamh Kavanagh “In Your Eyes” English
1996  Ireland Eimear Quinn “The Voice” English
1999  Sweden Charlotte Perrelli “Take Me to Your Heaven” English
1997  United Kingdom Katrina Leskanich “Love Shine a Light”[c] English
2019  Norway Keiino “Spirit in the Sky” English
2000  Denmark Jørgen Olsen “Fly on the Wings of Love”[d] English
1969  Netherlands Lenny Kuhr “De troubadour” Dutch
1993  Netherlands Ruth Jacott “Vrede” Dutch
1982  Germany Nicole “Ein bißchen Frieden” German, Dutch
1980  Ireland Johnny Logan “What’s Another Year” English
1987 “Hold Me Now” English
1992  Ireland Linda Martin “Why Me?” English
1979  Israel Gali Atari “Hallelujah”[e] Hebrew
2018  Israel Netta Barzilai “Toy” English
2019  San Marino Serhat “Say Na Na Na” English
2011  Azerbaijan Ell and Marlayne[f] “Running Scared” English
2019  Italy Mahmood “Soldi” Italian
2007  Ukraine Verka Serduchka “Dancing Lasha Tumbai” German, English
2018  Cyprus Eleni Foureira “Fuego” English
2012  Sweden Loreen “Euphoria” English
1986  Netherlands Marlayne and Mandy “Alles heeft ritme” Dutch
1999 “One Good Reason” English
1974  Sweden “Waterloo”[g] English


  1. ^ Performed with Slagerij van Kampen
  2. ^ Teach-In cover
  3. ^ Katrina and the Waves cover
  4. ^ Olsen Brothers cover
  5. ^ Milk and Honey cover, performed with Tim Douwsma and Buddy Vedder
  6. ^ Only Eldar Gasimov of the duo Ell and Nikki was able to perform, so Marlayne Sahupala performed the parts of Nigar Jamal
  7. ^ ABBA cover

Withdrawn artists: The original list of the performers also included Willeke Alberti, the Dutch representative at the Eurovision Song Contest 1994, who missed the show because of an illness.[4][5] Eurovision winners Finnish hard rock band Lordi (2007) and Russia’s Dima Bilan (2008) were appealed to perform, but later they cancelled their participation.[6] Helena Paparizou was also invited, but she couldn’t make it because she was having a live broadcasting with The Voice of Greece. She sent a video message in which she sang the refrain of her 2005 winning song “My Number One”.

Broadcasting: In the Netherlands Het Grote Songfestivalfeest will air on NPO 3 on 1 January 2020.